A Guide to the Supreme Court of Virginia Oaths of Office, 1935-1985; 2007 Clerk's correspondence and other records 00028932

A Guide to the Supreme Court of Virginia Oaths of Office, 1935-2012

A Collection in the
Supreme Court of Virginia Archives, Virginia State Law Library
Accession Number 00028932


Virginia State Law Library, Supreme Court of Virginia Archives

Virginia State Law Library
Supreme Court of Virginia
100 North Ninth Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
URL: http://www.courts.state.va.us/courtadmin/library/home.html
Email: LawLibrary@courts.state.va.us
Phone: (804) 786-2075

© 2012 By The Virginia State Law Library. All rights reserved.

Processed by: Library staff

Supreme Court of Virginia Archives, Virginia State Law Library
Accession Number
Supreme Court of Virginia Oaths of Office, 1935-1985; 2007
Physical Characteristics
0.45 cu. ft. (1 box)
Virginia. Supreme Court. Office of the Clerk.

Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Collection is open to research.

Use Restrictions

Because the library is not open to the general public, researchers should contact the library to arrange access to the collection.

Preferred Citation

Supreme Court of Virginia Oaths of Office, 1935-1985; 2007, Accession #00028932, Supreme Court of Virginia Archives, Virginia State Law Library, Richmond.

Acquisition Information

These records were transferred from the Clerk's office to the State Law Library in 2006.

Historical Information

The Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia was created by an act of the new General Assembly in 1779. Although the Supreme Court of Virginia possesses both original and appellate jurisdiction, its primary function is to review decisions of lower courts, including the Court of Appeals, from which appeals have been allowed.

Section 49-1 of the Code of Virginia requires justices to take an oath as on officer of the Commonwealth. Pursuant to Section 49-3 of the Code of Virginia, justices may be sworn in by a judge, clerk, or deputy clerk of a court of record; a judge of a district court; the Secretary of the Commonwealth, or a State Corporation Commissioner. Justices are elected by the legislature to 12-year terms. Chief justices are elected by a majority vote of the other Supreme court justices and serve a four-year term.

The Supreme Court of Virginia Clerk's Office receives, processes, and maintains permanent records of all appeals and other official documents filed with the Court. The Clerk also maintains records of qualified attorneys and other administrative records.

Scope and Content

The collection (not comprehensive) contains oaths of office of Supreme Court justices between 1935 and 2012. The collection also contains the oaths taken by Supreme Court Clerk Maury B. Watts, 1937; Deputy Clerk Bryan L. Clarke, 1957; Clerk Allen L. Lacy, 1977; Attorney General Kenneth C. Patty, 1957; and J. Lindsay Almond, Roanoke (city) Hustings Court judge, 1941.



Index Terms

    Corporate Names:

  • Virginia. Office of the Secretary of the Commonwealth.
  • Virginia. Supreme Court.
  • Virginia. Supreme Court. Office of the Clerk.
  • Subjects:

  • Clerks of court -- Virginia -- 20th century.
  • Judges--Virginia.
  • Virginia -- Supreme Court -- History -- 20th century.
  • Genre/Form:

  • Oaths -- Virginia.

Contents List

Folder 1
J. Lindsay Almond, Roanoke (city) Hustings court judge, 1946, 1947, 1963
Folder 2
Justice Archibald Chapman Buchanan, 1946, 1947, 1963
Folder 3
Chief Justice Harry Lee Carrico, 1962, 1966, 1979, 1981
Folder 4
Bryan L. Clark, Deputy Clerk, 1958
Folder 5
Justice George Moffett Cochran, 1969, 1970, 1973, 1974, 1975
Folder 6
Chief Justice John William Eggleston, 1935, 1961, 1970
Folder 7
Justice Thomas Christian Gordon, Jr., 1965
Folder 8
Justice Herbert Bailey Gregory, 1942
Folder 9
Justice Alexander Marrs Harman, 1969, 1970, 1975
Folder 10
Justice Albertis S. Harrison, Jr., 1970, 1971
Folder 11
Chief Justice Leroy Rountree Hassell, 2007
Folder 12
Chief Justice Henry Winston Holt, 1942
Folder 13
Chief Justice Edward Wren Hudgins, 1942, 1954
Folder 14
Chief Justice Lawrence Warren I'Anson, 1958, 1978
Folder 15
Allen L. Lucy, Clerk, 1977
Folder 16
Justice Willis Dance Miller, 1947, 1948, 1955
Folder 17
Kenneth C. Patty, Attorney General, 1957
Folder 18
Justice Richard Harding Poff, 1972, 1985
Folder 19
Justice Lemuel Franklin Smith, 1951, 1953
Folder 20
Justice Harold Fleming Snead, 1957, 1958, 1964
Folder 21
Chief Justice Claude Vernon Spratley, 1947, 1959
Folder 22
Justice Abram Penn Staples, 1947, 1948
Folder 23
Justice John Charles Thomas, 1983
Folder 24
Justice William Carrington Thompson, 1980
Folder 25
Maury B. Watts, Clerk, 1937
Folder 26
Justice Henry Hudson Whiting, 1987
Folder 27
Justice Kennon Cathness Whittle, 1951, 1952, 1954